Korean Society for Exercise Nutrition
HOME | Login | Bookmarks | Contact Us
The Journal of Exercise Nutrition & Biochemistry
manuscript submission site

eISSN : 2233-6842

Special Article

pISSN : 2233-6834
eISSN : 2233-6842
Editor in Chief : Jonghoon Park
The Journal of Exercise Nutrition & Biochemistry - Vol. 22 , No. 4

AmLexin, a Standardized blend of Acacia catechu and Morus alba, shows benefits to delayed onset muscle soreness in healthy runners

Mesfin Yimam, Shawn M. Talbott, Julie A. Talbott,Lidia Brownell, Qi Jia

[Purpose] Sudden and exhaustive exercise causes muscle damage accompanied by oxidative stress and inflammation, leading to muscle fatigue and soreness. AmLexin contains a standardized blend of extracts from the heartwood of Acacia catechu and the root bark of Morus alba, and is known to possess antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties. The aim of this study was to investigate the effects of this proprietary blend supplementation on muscular pain and redox balance in healthy runners, in comparison to a placebo.

[Methods] A double-blind placebo-controlled clinical trial was carried out over 9 weeks in a single center. Thirty physically active male and female subjects within 18닋70 years of age were randomized into AmLexin (mean age = 42.92 짹 2.48 and gender 7/5, male/female, respectively) and placebo (mean age = 41.15 짹 3.5 and gender 10/3, male/female, respectively) groups.Subjects were supplemented with 400 mg of AmLexin/day or a look-alike placebo during an 8-week training program, and for one week following a 13.1-mile half-marathon. Twenty-six subjects completed the 9-week supplementation trial.

[Results] Results showed the AmLexin group experienced significantly lower levels of post-exercise pain on day 1닋3 following the half-marathon compared to the placebo group. The AmLexin group also showed lower post-exercise oxidative stress and higher antioxidant capacity on days 1 and 6 following the half-marathon. These results demonstrated the rapid benefits of AmLexin on pain and oxidative stress within 1닋6 days post-exercise.

[Conclusion] Our data suggest that AmLexin could be a safe, effective botanical alternative for delayed onset muscle soreness.

[Key words] Delayed onset muscle soreness; Acacia catechu; Morus alba; inflammation; oxidative stress

Journal of Exercise Nutrition & Biochemistry Editorial Board more

PHONE : +82-10-5243-1971     E-mail : jenbedit@gmail.com

Current Issue

[Original articles]

Hyo-youl Moon

Majid S. Koozehchian, Amin Daneshfar, Ebrahim Fallah, Hamid Agha-Alinejad, Mohammad Samadi, Mojtaba Kaviani, Maryam Kaveh B, Y. Peter Jung, Mozhgan Hassanzadeh Sablouei, Najmeh Moradi, Conrad P. Earnest, T. Jeff Chandler, Richard B. Kreider

Mesfin Yimam, Shawn M. Talbott, Julie A. Talbott, Lidia Brownell, Qi Jia

Hun-Young Park, Won-Sang Jung, Jisu Kim, Hyejung Hwang, Kiwon Lim

Yoon-Seok Chun, Se-Kwang Ku, Jong-Kyu Kim, Sok Park, In-ho Cho, Nam-Ju Lee

Nanako Hayashi, Aya Ishibashi, Kazushige Goto

Inhwan Lee, Jinkyung Cho, Jinkook Park, Hyunsik Kang

In-Soo Lim